Dear friend,

I listened to this chapter on the way to see a movie called La La Land. I drove to the only movie theater playing it, which was a 45 minute drive, after work on a Tuesday when it was cold and dingy out and I had not slept well the night before. This was the first time I went to see a movie by myself. It felt very adventurous! Gotta use up all the Fandango gift cards I have accumulated over the years.

Listening to this chapter while I drove through the hilly landscapes and tight construction zones beneath a gray afternoon sky, I was reminded once again about my love for this book. So many elements that I have become familiar with were introduced in this chapter such as Ice and Dire Wolves.

cool-beans

One of my favorite quotes from Ned comes from this chapter.

The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword. If you would take a man’s life, you owe it to him to look into his eyes and hear his final words. And if you cannot bear to do that, then perhaps the man does not deserve to die.

A lot of people complain about Bran chapters, but I have always enjoyed them quite a bit. I love the simple and youthful narration.

When the group finds the Dire Wolf pups, my heart simply melts. Not only that but I am amazed with the attention to detail that George gives to practically every sentence. Each one carries so much weight! These Dire Wolves are so important and I love re-reading the day the Starks found them!

tumblr_mrjja6bcvu1rijmvyo1_500

I’m thinking of changing up the format for these letters…at least when it comes to this book in particular. Maybe even when it comes to Harry Potter. There are 72 chapters in this book I believe, and my time is thin as it is. We shall see…

Until next time, friend. Danielle.

Leave a Reply

