Dear friend,

Earlier this week I came up with the brilliant idea to make a cooking website. I didn’t make it for attention as I have no real interest in cooking (it is a light hobby and a means to eat) but because I find so many recipes online that I wanted a place to store them all. So I chose a cool layout, high quality images, and made the site look super fancy…and it gets a ton of likes and subscribers. What is the deal? I wish they would head over to this blog instead. Why is it that I get so many likes on a blog I don’t really care about than my actual blog? Oh, hello insecurities. Nice to see you again.

As I read this book, I am consistently asking myself why Agatha is a POV character. I truly don’t understand why we need to hear her perspective. She talks about things that don’t seem relevant to the plot, like how she doesn’t really have friends at Watford and how she tries to talk to Baz about dating but he shrugs her off, all the while wondering why everyone thinks they know what is best for her or what she wants. Sounds like a Disney Princess…in a vomity sort of way.

tumblr_mly7kwrlch1rbgyqwo7_500

It seems Baz and Simon both have the same idea, though different motivation, to visit the Mage’s tower. Baz goes up because he feels he has a right to be there since it once belonged to his mom. Hmm, I’m not sure it works that way dude.

After a brief confrontation, Simon tells Baz about his mother visiting when the Veil lifted. Baz is pissed off, but his emotional reaction is short lived when Penny bursts into their room in tears. Baz leaves and Penny basically equates her brother to book 5 Percy Weasley, saying he wanted to search their home per the Mage’s instructions but her mother refused. Side note – Penny’s parents sound amazing. Penny’s mom tells her son off and says what he is doing is against civil liberties.

plihxjc

Penny then talks about not keeping secrets from one another and Simon is like, oh shoot man. I’m keeping a secret from her right now for no reason. Instead of telling her I will just keep it to myself because…plot?

giphy-40

Meanwhile, Baz has run off and is contemplating the idea that had his mother lived she would be disgusted by him (since he is a vampire and all). He knows she would not have let him into Watford. He reflects on this queerness and how his dad would probably be more bothered by that than his vampireness. I love how being a vampire is also sort of like being queer. It is a metaphor. Woo!

Seriously though, this is really well done and I appreciate Rowell’s handling of the subject. The book is an LGBT romance yet barely mentions LGBT (spoilers) and that is okay. Simply by making Baz a vampire, we are able to see what vampires are to the magickal world as LGBT people are to our world. Well done, Rowell. Well done.

giphy-41

Then when Baz returns to the room, Simon vows to help him find the person who killed Baz’s mother. I mean, yay and all, but where is the motivation for this change of heart from Simon? One minute he hates Baz and the next he sees Baz’s dead mom and says I will help you. BOOOOOOOOOOOK!!!

These guys are enemies! Simon’s narration strongly told us that he hates Baz, and Baz hates him. Therefore, it would most likely take a lot for their walls to come down. Many times our hatred comes from an honest place but soon grows until we no longer see the person as a human being. Most times we don’t want to see them as a human being. Simon and Baz are no acception. I didn’t mention that in the Mage’s office the two boys found a picture of Baz as a child and Simon got all AWWW at it. And that is fine, but that is not enough to reverse years of hatred. It just comes across as very weak.

And another Lucy chapter, bye.

ggg

Until next time, friend. Danielle.

Leave a Reply

