Dear friend,

This letter is coming to you later than usual. I apologize. This week has kept me very busy and although I would like to blame it on productivity, I have to admit that it also has to do with my recent obsession with the Uncharted games for the Playstation 4. #cray #sorrynotsorry

I was supposed to write to you last Wednesday, and I have a perfectly reasonable explanation as to why I did not do this as I promised. Ready? Well, I decided to try out an audio letter. Would ya believe it sucked? Yeah…it really did. No lie.

I attempted to record the letter again but to pretty much the same results…me feeling shitty about my decisions and my self esteem dropping several degrees. Plus, I have wanted to avoid audio letters from the start of this project so it was a bit counter productive to try and record one in the first place. That is what the podcast is for, so you can hear my voice. Thus here I am, writing to you once again.

I have finished All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. It took me 6 days to read it, a number I am very proud of. That puts me ahead of the game and I am over the moon about this! Being behind for so long was a bit of a downer so I’m glad to be on my A game. It’s about time!

gif-regina-mills-once-upon-a-time-mary-margaret-Favim.com-4186032

What can I say about this book without it being a review? Unfortunately, my poor time management skills have kept me from writing a proper chapter by chapter letter. This letter is basically all the chapters. But it is not a review! I promise.

questionable-hand-movements-5

Going into this book, I was optimistic. After reading okay books so far this year, I was ready for a change. It helped that this book had a Pulitzer Prize sticker on the front cover. Plus, it seemed like it could be a quick read that could get me ahead of the game.

Spoilers, the book was awesome.

giphy-13

I am finding it hard to put my thoughts into words as to why this book was so awesome. I mean, the writing was fantastic and the characters were lovely and depth defying and just really enjoyable to read. The ending is tragic yet at the same time gorgeous. I’m not sure if I understand the title all too well. Perhaps it is making a comment on the fact that we have a blind character who can see better than those with sight? I’m not sure.

It is always a bit weary to engage in a World War II novel, being that there are so many and it is an over-saturated topic. Like, do I need another story about people defying Nazi’s? Do I need another story raping the idea of people being tortured and abused as good story material?

giphy (54)

But I must say, this book handled the subject material in a really interesting and different way than I have seen before. This isn’t to say the tropes weren’t there. Oh, they were there for sure. But the novel did just enough different and had just enough amazing writing to move beyond being your typical World War II novel. And for that, I am grateful.

I’m now wondering if I loved this book for what it had to offer or for the fact that it read so quickly that I didn’t have a chance to find a fault. I’d like to think I can look beyond my emotions but I’m finding it really hard to accomplish during this challenge. We shall see how things progress through the year.

So to conclude, I loved this book but not enough to call it a favorite.

vault-boy-3d-printing

Until next time, friend. Danielle.

One thought on “All the Light We Cannot See

Leave a Reply

